Skip to Content

Our District


Texas’ Fourth Congressional District is home to 12 counties in Northeastern Texas from the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex to Hooks.  The district includes all or part of the counties of Bowie, Collin, Delta, Denton, Fannin, Grayson, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Rains, Red River, and Rockwall.

In the past hundred years, only five Texans have been elected to serve as Representatives for Fourth District in the U.S. House.

Covering an area originally known as Texas’ Second District, today’s Fourth District has existed since 1870 when Texas was readmitted to the Union following the Civil War.  The district boundaries have changed considerably since then, first extending across 39 counties and ending at the Bexar Land District, an area just west of the district boundary along Taylor, Jones, Haskell, Knox, Foard, and Hardeman counties.

Well known previous holders of the office include Ralph Hall, former House Science, Space and Technology Chairman; former Speaker of the House Sam Rayburn, after whom the Rayburn House Office Building in Washington, D.C. is named; John Morris Sheppard, author of the 18th Amendment to the Constitution (Prohibition); and John Ratcliffe, former Director of National Intelligence under President Donald J. Trump.

Addresses and contact information for my district offices is available here.  If you are interested in browsing district-specific information, you can look up Census data for the Fourth District.